Loyola College (Autonomous), Chennai -600 034

Department of Physics,

Minutes of the Board of Studies meeting

Date: 4/2/2016

Time: 11:00a.m. – 1.30 p.m

• The BOS meeting of Department of Physics was held on 4th February 2016

from 11 AM to 1.30 PM.

• The framed syllabus was displayed for discussion, the external members

suggested a few corrections and inclusions in a few papers. They also

suggested rephrasing the objectives given for few papers.

• The student representatives asked for an exchange of two papers Thermal

Physics and Mathematical Physics which was to be offered in the III and V

semesters respectively, As per their request Mathematical Physics was

moved to the III semester and Thermal Physics to the V semester.

• After serious deliberations, the syllabi for all the programs offered by the

department were passed taking into consideration the suggestions and

recommendations of the external members, student representatives and the

staff members of the department.

• I am happy to present the same before the Academic council Members.

The following are the list of papers offered by the department of Physics Under restructuring –2016

UG: Physics

Sl.No.	SEM	Code	Title	Category	Credit	Hours
1	1	PH	PROPERTIES OF MATTER AND ACOUSTICS	MC	7	7
2	ı	PH	PHYSICS PRACTICAL-I	MC	2	2
3	П	PH	MECHANICS	MC	7	7
4	II	PH	PHYSICS PRACTICAL-II	MC	2	2
5	Ш	PH	MATHEMATICAL PHYSICS	MC	6	6
6	Ш	PH	ELECTRONICS – I	MC	4	4
7	Ш	PH	PHYSICS PRACTICAL-III	MC	2	2
8	IV	PH	ELECTRICITY AND MAGNETISM	MC	4	4
9	IV	PH	ASTRONOMY AND ASTROPHYSICS	ES	4	6
10	IV	PH	ENERGY PHYSICS	ES	4	6
11	IV	PH	INTRODUCTORY NANO SCIENCE AND NANO TECHNOLOGY	ES	4	6
12	IV	PH	PHYSICS PRACTICAL-IV	MC	2	2
13	٧	PH	QUANTUM MECHANICS	MC	7	7
14	V	PH	THERMAL PHYSICS	MC	7	7
15	٧	PH	PROBLEMS SOLVING SKILLS IN PHYSICS	ES	4	6
16	V	PH	BIOMEDICAL INSTRUMENTATION	ES	4	6
17	V	PH	GEO PHYSICS	ES	4	6
18	٧	PH	ELECTRONICS – II	SK	3	4
19	٧	PH	ELECTRONICS – II LAB	SK	1	2
20	V	PH	PHYSICS PRACTICAL-V	MC	2	2
21	V	PH	PHYSICS PRACTICAL-VI	MC	2	2
22	VI	PH	ATOMIC AND NUCLEAR PHYSICS	MC	7	7
23	VI	PH	OPTICS	MC	7	7
24	VI	PH	SOLID STATE PHYSICS	MC	6	6
25	VI	PH	MATERIALS SCIENCE	MS	4	6
26	VI	PH	PHYSICS PRACTICAL-VII	MC	2	2
27	VI	PH	PHYSICS PRACTICAL-VIII	MC	2	2
28	ı	PH	PHYSICS FOR MATHEMATICS I	AL1	2	4
29	ı	PH	PHYSICS FOR MATHEMATICS I LAB	AL1	1	2
30	Ш	PH	PHYSICS FOR CHEMISTRY I	AL3	2	4
31	III	PH	PHYSICS FOR CHEMISTRY PRACTICAL I	AL3	1	2
32	IV	PH	PHYSICS FOR CHEMISTRY II	AL4	2	4
33	IV	PH	PHYSICS FOR CHEMISTRY PRACTICAL II	AL4	1	2

M.Sc. PHYSICS SYLLABUS (EFFECTIVE FROM 2016-2017)

Sl.No.	Sub.Code.	Title	Page No.
1	PH1817	CLASSICAL MECHANICS	2
2	PH1818	ELECTRODYNAMICS	3
3	PH1819	ELECTRONICS AND PROGRAMMING	4
4	PH1820	MATHEMATICAL PHYSICS - I	5
5	PH1821	PRACTICAL - I	6
6	PH2814	EMBEDDED SYSTEMS	8
7	PH2815	MATHEMATICAL PHYSICS II	8
8	PH2816	QUANTUM MECHANICS - I	10
9	PH2817	PRACTICAL - II	11
10	PH2955	ASTROPHYSICS	12
11	PH2956	GEOPHYSICS	12
12	PH2957	GRAVITATION AND COSMOLOGY	13
13	PH2958	PARTICLE PHYSICS	14
14	PH3814	STATISTICAL MECHANICS	16
15	PH3815	SPECTROSCOPY	17
16	PH3816	PRACTICAL III	18
17	PH3875	NANO SCIENCE	19
18	PH3953	CRYSTAL PHYSICS	20
19	PH3954	DATA COMMUNICATION AND COMPUTER NETWORKS	21
20	PH3955	REACTOR PHYSICS	22
21	PH4810	QUANTUM MECHANICS II	23
22	PH4811	NUCLEAR PHYSICS	24
23	PH4812	SOLID STATE PHYSICS	25
24	PH4813	PROJECT	26

Loyola College (Autonomous), Chennai-34.

Department of Physics

The following members were present for the meeting of the Board of Studies held on 4^{th} February, 2016 at 11 AM.

SI.No.	Staff Name	Signature	
1	Dr. A. Subramanian (Univ. Nominee)	Absent	
2	Dr. T. S. Natarajan (College Nominee)	Absent	
3	Dr. N. Lakshminarayan (College Nominee)	Kar	
4	Mr. Arockiasamy (Industry Representative)	bang	
5	Mr. Saravanan (Alumni)	Absent	
6	Meiteinganba Thokchom (PG Student Rep.)	(Di)	
7	Jithin Thomas Mathew (UG Student Rep.)	Thomas.	
8	Dr. S. Jerome Das (UG Professor)	Menome Due	
9	Dr. Joe G.M. Jesudurai	Low Tribing	
10	Dr. S. Pauline	d. Paul	
11	Dr. V. Joseph	On Leave	
12	Dr. J. Madhavan	On leave	
13	Dr. J. Merline Shyla	J- Meeline Stuff	
14	Dr. J. Mary Linet	Hanghingt. S	
15	Dr. N.S. Nirmala Jothi	NS-Nimoula Jothi.	
16	Ms. G. Sreekumari	Seading	
17	Dr. M. Victor Antony Raj	UV.K-	
18	Mr. J. Arul Martin Mani	Foldburg	
19	Dr. K.A.Ravindran (Coordinator)	Now Prof _ar	
20	Ms. T. Arokiyamary	T. Salo -	
21	Ms. M. Mercina	Nech 1	
22	Ms. J.P. Angelena	J.P. Melar	
23	Mr. C. Joseph Prabagar	15th J	
24	Mr. B. Shanmugapriyan	J. Shyma	
25	Dr. R. Jerald Vijay	De	
26	Dr. M. Chrisphin Karthick	M. Ball.	
27	Dr. A. Stanley Raj	Shy uj	
28	Dr. S. Arul Mozhi	e-A-II	
20	Dr. P. Sagayanai (HOD & Chainman)	Quan's	