Loyola College (Autonomous) Chennai - 600034

MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF STUDIES of the DEPARTMENT OF ENGLISH HELD ON 23.02.17

The Board of Studies of the Department of English was held on 23.02.17 at 12.20 p.m. in MRF Hall. The main agenda was discussion and approval of the restructured M.Phil (ELT) Syllabus. In addition to this an Allied paper, English for Mass Media was presented for approval.

1. M.Phil (ELT) – Syllabuses of 4 papers

The first paper taken up for discussion was RHETORIC AND RESEARCH METHODOLOGY. The external experts were impressed by the scope and uniqueness of the syllabus. The inclusion of SPSS under the research methodology section was appreciated by the Industrial representative Mr. Mark. The next paper SECOND LANGUAGE ACQUISITION was thoroughly discussed. The ELT experts of the department remarked that this core paper takes into consideration all the relevant inputs in the area and is neatly structured. The above two papers will be taught in Semester 1.

In the second semester, the third paper, called a SPECIALIZATION PAPER deals exclusively with the candidates' area of research. He/She needs to prove their competence and knowledge of the area chosen for research. The fourth paper DISSERTATION involves guidance and the actual task of writing the dissertation by the candidate. After elaborate discussion and queries the M.Phil Syllabuses were approved.

2. English for Mass Media

This paper which is offered as an Allied Course in the II Semester has been extensively revised. During the discussion a few suggestions to update the syllabus with the current trends in the field was insisted by Professors who are experts in Journalism. All the suggestions have been incorporated and the paper was approved.

The Board of Studies meeting came to a close at 1.15 p.m.



S. No.	Names	Members	Signature
1.	Dr. S. Armstrong Professor & Head Department of English University of Madras	University Nominee	J. Mienry
2.	Chennai - 600 005 Dr. Mekala Rajan Associate Professor Department of English Madras Christian College Chennai - 600059	Subject Expert	Mekda Rajan
3.	Dr. J Mangayarkarasi Head, Department of English Ethiraj College For Women Chennai - 600008	Subject Expert	J.4V
4.	G. Olivannan CEO, Emerald Publishers Chennai	Industry Expert	Mama
5.	Mr Michael Anand 2014 – 16 Batch Dept of English Loyola College	Alumnus	R. V.

S. No.	Names	Members	Signature
1.	Dr.K.S. Antonysamy	HOD	Behman
2.	Dr.D. Louis Joseph Chandra	Faculty Member	A. h.J. Chourd
3.	Dr. V. David Jayabalan	Faculty Member	Dand
4	Mr. X. Manoharan	Faculty Member	X,MM
5.	Dr. P. MaryVidya Porselvi	Faculty Member	on Leave
6.	Ms. D. Christina Sagayamary	Faculty Member	7).
7.	Mr. A. Sebastiraj	Faculty Member	people
8.	Mrs. Pearline Paulraj	Faculty Member	lear
9.	Dr. I. Felicita Mary Prabha	Faculty Member	1. There
10	Mr. D. Francis Xavier	Faculty Member	Mari
11.	Dr. V. Vasanthi	Faculty Member	Jasi
12.	Dr. N. Preethi Shanthi	Faculty Member	N Preet Shuth
13.	Ms. J. Julia Pradeepa	Faculty Member	anlie
14.	Dr. M. Annam Ragamalika	Faculty Member	Annan Regarde
15.	Dr. K. Kannan Prasad	Faculty Member	k.kannan Prasad.
16.	Mr. Stephen Heldt	Faculty Member	Sub) 3
17.	Mr. S. Ashwin Parameshwar	Faculty Member	deiph "
18.	Mr. R. Aldrin	Faculty Member	(Mar)
19.	Ms. K.Sweety	Faculty Member	amp
20.	Dr. A. Amala Arokia Raj	Faculty Member	BORDA
21.	Ms. Tisha Varghese	Faculty Member	Liste
22.	Mr. J. Jerin Austin Dhas	Faculty Member	B032

S. No.	Names	Members	Signature
1.	Dr. Vijaya Supriya Sam	Coordinator	Suping San
2.	Ms. A. Xavier Dhanam	Faculty Member	Are
3.	Mr. A. John Jelestin	Faculty Member	15-95
4.	Mr. P. Santhosh Kumar	Faculty Member	9. Shle
5.	Ms. Giruba CV Chevalsan	Faculty Member	& Con
6.	Ms. T. S. Sahaya Mary	Faculty Member	Mary
7.	Ms. P. Josephine Shamini	Faculty Member	ML
8.	Ms. N. Bharathi Priya	Faculty Member	ML
9.	Mr. Kirubakaran Amalraj	Faculty Member	K-Raj
10.	Mr. A. Antoine Dominic Gnanasudhan	Faculty Member	Brig of is
11.	Dr. S. Arockia Anto Anita	Faculty Member	
12.	Dr. S. Arul Francis	Faculty Member	TRANCI
13.	Ms. S. V. Saranya	Faculty Member	S.V. Saranet
14.	Mr. P. Ranjith Kumar	Faculty Member	Right
	Ms. N. Meera	Faculty Member	E.
	Mr. T. Johnknox	Faculty Member	TAR O
	Mr. I. Joseph Arc Leo	Faculty Member	Aurenton
	Mr. A. Linau Linau	Faculty Member	light
	Ms. A. Lincy Linnette Ms. A. Sharmila Rani	Faculty Member	L-g.t.
	Ms. S. Cyrene Thanga Blessy	Faculty Member	Ship
	Mr. A. NEPOLIAN.	Faculty Member	S. Gardinalist
	MR. ARUL BENITO GERARD.A	" "	Burband.
24.	MY-TLAMARAN.T	11	subyad.

Scanned by CamScanner